To Obtain a Marriage License:
• There is no waiting period for obtaining a marriage license and it may be used immediately upon issuance.
• Once a marriage license is issued, it is valid for 60 days and may be used in any county within North Carolina.
• Bring valid state-issued photo ID (Driver’s License, Passport, etc.)
• Provide proof of Social Security by providing one of the following:
- Social Security Card
- IRS 10-99 Form
- W2 from your employer
• Pursuant to NC General Session Law 201-119 Senate Bill 35, as of August 26, 2021, the minimum legal age to marry in North Carolina is 16. If an applicant is 16 or 17 years of age, the other applicant cannot be more than 4 years older, enforceable to birthdays.
• If under the age of 18, a parent or guardian possessing full or joint custody must accompany you when applying for the license. The parent or guardian will also sign a form, giving consent to the marriage.
The charge is $70. This covers $60 for the marriage license, and $10 for a certified copy of the marriage license, once our office receives the marriage license back into the office, we certify a copy and send to the couple. We accept cash, check, money order, and credit/debit card.
NOTE: If one applicant cannot be present due extenuating circumstances, an Affidavit in Lieu of Appearance must be completed by that applicant and notarized. The other applicant must bring the affidavit with them when applying for the license.
Download: Affidavit in Lieu of Appearance Form
You may complete the marriage license application in the Register of Deeds’ office, however if you would like to complete a license application prior to coming to the Register of Deeds, click here.